Skip to main content


Eastern District of Texas

Honorable Rodney Gilstrap, Chief Judge
David A. O'Toole, Clerk of Court

2017 John Hannah, Jr Award for Public Service

You are here

Visit the 2017 John Hannah, Jr Award page for more information.

The John Hannah, Jr. Award is named in honor and in memory of Chief Judge John Hannah, Jr. and recognizes a Texas attorney who is admitted to practice law in the Eastern District of Texas and who has demonstrated a superior commitment to public service. Specifically, the award will be presented to an attorney who has distinguished himself/herself by a significant act or series of related acts which have contributed significantly to raising the public profile and image of the legal profession in the Eastern District of Texas. More importantly, the recipient of the Hannah A ward will have achieved a record of outstanding accomplishment that will be based on the recipient's commitment to public service that is marked by the highest standards of personal integrity and dedication. In keeping with Judge Hannah's own legal experience, attorneys from all manner of professional backgrounds will be eligible to receive the award.