Requirements for Admission to Practice in the Eastern District of Texas
Local Rule AT-1 identifies the requirements for admission to practice in the Eastern District of Texas. These procedures explain the process for becoming admitted to the bar of this court. If you seek permission to appear for one case only, please see the Pro Hac Vice Appearance instructions.
A Certificate of Good Standing is not required to apply for admission.
Please carefully follow the instructions below:
1. Answer every question on the Application for Admission to Practice.
2. Complete the Oath of Admission before a notary public, who must affix the notary's seal.
3. Have the Motion for Admission completed by an attorney who is a member in good standing of the State Bar of Texas or of any United States District Court.
4. Send the original Application for Admission to Practice, Oath of Admission, Motion for Admission, and a check in the amount of $188.00 made payable to “U.S. District Clerk” to the following address:
Clerk, US District Court
ATTN: Attorney Admissions Clerk
William M. Steger Federal Building and United States Courthouse
211 West Ferguson Street, Room 106
Tyler, Texas 75702
Please note: The attorney admission fee of $188.00 is required by statute. The local bar membership fee of $10.00 has been waived by General Order 08-14.
5. Once your application is approved, the clerk will email your Certificate of Admission to Practice to you. After you receive that email, you must immediately register for an electronic filing account. (This step is required to import your attorney record into the court’s NextGen ECF system.) Please follow the instructions available here: http://txed.uscourts.gov/?q=cmecf-nextgen.
If you have questions, please call (903) 590-1007.